In 1873 an Act of Parliament created the Law and Parliamentary Library and in 1889 this Library split into two libraries, the Supreme Court Library and the Parliamentary Library. In 2016 the Law Library was formed as an amalgamation of the Supreme Court Library and the Department of Justice (Crown Law) Library.

The Law Library has one of the largest legal collections in WA, holding important historical as well as current legal material. It houses over 70,000 volumes vital for current and historical legal research.

The Law Library services the judiciary and the legal officers from the State Solicitor’s Office, Parliamentary Counsel’s Office, Solicitor General’s Office and the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions as well as legal practitioners throughout Western Australia. It is not open to the public.